‘It’s a little bit funny, this feeling inside…’

Well, I think it’s official. I’m in lurrrrrrv.

I just got a phone call from Chile. And I’m all smiley now–especially because usually the only person who phones me on Sundays with an unavailable number is my mother.

I’m doing my best to abandon my relationship neuroses. I’m leaving the city in less than a year–we are all well aware of this. And yet…. I always said–and only half believed myself–that I wouldn’t let that stop me from having something serious, but it would always be in the back of my mind. It’s still always in the back of my mind: it has to be. I have to start writing application essays for grad school. As I said, though, I only half believed that I might actually let myself start to fall. I guess it’s all a matter of meeting the right person at the right time.

It’s only been a few weeks so I’m not assuming anything yet, but I have good feelings about this. I’ve already warned him that I’m a terrible person to date during school. School comes first. End of discussion. But, I (almost) always take Friday nights off and can usually be persuaded not to study on Saturday nights, too. Which isn’t saying that I can afford to go out and party all weekend. But that does mean that he can see me when I’m not surrounded by piles of books. He said he’d take his chances on seeing me during school. He’ll be in school, too, so it’s not as if he’ll just be sitting around doing nothing all the time.

Of all the things I’d wanted to get done this summer, lurrrrrrv wasn’t one of them.

I’m not complaining though.

Start a conversation

