‘And now she sits alone and remembers.’

The subject line is taken from the refrain of the Carlos Fuentes novel that I just finished, The Old Gringo. It was very interesting. For one thing, it had a dream-like quality: because of this it sort of reminded me of The Great Gatsby, but only because I find that novel very haunting and dream-like (though more haunting than dream-like). For another thing, I don’t think I’ve ever read a novel–I can’t think of one, anyway–that talks about Americans from the point-of-view of someone who isn’t American. It’s the tension between the States and Mexico that provides the major driving force for the novel. I highly recommended it. It’s not a must-read, but definitely a worthwhile one.

In other news, the temporary roommate just left forever. I now have an urge to re-arrange the kitchen cabinets because she moved things around. I’ve finally decided to move my stuff back into the kitchen–hooray–because things are going to change around here. Caspian’s girlfriend is moving in with us and she’s a clean-freak. And we’re going to give Amanda an ultimatum when she returns to improve her cleaning habits or leave. So, I feel that my dishes and pots and pans will be safe once again. We’ll see how that goes.

School starts in a week. Sigh. I’m ready, I guess. I haven’t really much thought about it. I’ve been more worried about freaking out about grad school. I’m trying to expand my search a bit and have found a few more possibilities–a few even in Canada, but the funding possibilities are a bit hazy if I stay here. I’ve still got my sights set on Berkeley, so we’ll see how that goes.

Start a conversation

