Cross-eyed but not yet drooling

I spent the morning slogging through an almost unreadable chapter in an almost unreadable book called ‘The Age of Atonement’. Supposedly, it’s about the influence of Evangelicalism on early-to-mid-nineteenth century English history. Sounds decent enough. My prof warned me that this guy couldn’t write very well, but, jeez, Oxford published the book. That should count for something in the way of readability, shouldn’t it?!

Then, I spent the afternoon reading selections from the Report of the 1832 Royal Commission on the Poor Law. That would have been interesting if not for the obscenely small print. And the noise from the construction on McTavish.

Now I think I will find something to eat as my tummy is rumbling. Then, I will buy a new copy card as I just used up the last of what I had on my old one. Then I will go home and read the opening debate on the New Poor Law of 1834. Another odyssey of small print and justified-type. I hate justified type. The debate wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t two columns to an already small page. Four columns across a legal-sized photocopy, with room probably for a fifth column, but the book doesn’t go that far.

History is going to push me into early bifocals.

Start a conversation

