Coronation Day

Outgoing Deputy Secretary of State, Richard Armitage, in an interview with The Australian discussed his regrets about Bush’s first term. He had three, the first two that Iraq and the general Middle East situation is not better. His third, and largest, was connected with 9-11.

The biggest regret is that we didn’t stop 9/11. And then in the wake of 9/11, instead of redoubling what is our traditional export of hope and optimism we exported our fear and our anger. And presented a very intense and angry face to the world. I regret that a lot.

My question is if this will get any play in the US media. My guess is, um…no. Ah well.

(Although my favourite out-going statement from Bush’s first term cabinet was the Secretary of Health and Human Services–whose name escapes me at the moment, Tommy Thompson?–said that he was surprised that the terrorists hadn’t tried to attack our food and water supplies, since it would be so easy to do.)

The Coronation is coming up soon. Bush will be sworn in before noon, when his first term is set to expire. I hope that the protests go smoothly. I imagine, given the crowd control measures that I’ve been reading about, there won’t be many people throwing things at the limos this year. Alas. I hope that the turn your back on Bush protests go well. Simple, yet effective.

Wouldn’t it be great if Bush pulled a William Henry Harrison? By insisting to deliver a horridly long speech in the cold and bad weather and then dying of pneumonia a month later? Of course, then Uncle Dick would be President, and Condoleeza would be VP. At least we’d get a woman VP. And a black woman at that. It’s something, right?

Anyway. I digress.

As I said last night, he may be having a big party, but he’s still not my president.

Start a conversation

