Another song

I’ve been posting a lot of song lyrics recently. Deal with it. My life tends to have a soundtrack, especially when I’m feeling a bit down/stressed out.

I woke up with this song in my head this morning. Literally. I woke up a little bit before my alarm and it was the first thing I thought of as I leaned over to pet Sudra who decided to sleep on my bed with me last night. She does seem finally to be getting better. We’re still force feeding her because of the ulcer on her tongue since she’s not eating herself, but she’s getting better. She had some tuna juice yesterday, so that’s a step in the right direction. In any event, the song… it sums up a lot of things I’ve been thinking about over the past week, grad school and otherwise. I knew from when I applied that I might not get in to any of the schools, and I said I was okay with it. I’m disappointed to be sure, but I’m still okay with it. Time off will definitely be a good thing. I’ve been in school going on nineteen years. It’ll be a good chance to clear my head, to try something completely different, and to catch up on reading that I want to do. And make some filthy lucre! Not really probably. Heh. In any event there are a lot of books that I want to catch up on reading. And I really want to learn Spanish. Among other things. Going back to the States will be a big change. It won’t necessarily be better than Montréal, but it’s where my life feels headed at this point, and I have to take it as it comes.

‘Promised Land’ by Bruce Springsteen

On a rattlesnake speedway in the Utah desert
I pick up my money and head back into town
Driving cross the Waynesboro county line
I got the radio on and I�m just killing time
Working all day in my daddy�’s garage
Driving all night chasing some mirage
Pretty soon little girl I’�m gonna take charge

The dogs on main street howl ’cause they understand
If I could take one moment into my hands
Mister I ain’�t a boy no I�’m a man
And I believe in a promised land

I�’ve done my best to live the right way
I get up every morning and go to work each day
But your eyes go blind and your blood runs cold
Sometimes I feel so weak I just want to explode
Explode and tear this old town apart
Take a knife and cut this pain from my heart
Find somebody itching for something to start

The dogs on main street howl ’cause they understand
If I could take one moment into my hands
Mister I ain’�t a boy no I�’m a man
And I believe in a promised land

There’�s a dark cloud rising from the desert floor
I packed my bags and I�’m heading straight into the storm
Gonna be a twister to blow everything down
That ain’�t got the faith to stand it�s ground
Blow away the dreams that tear you apart
Blow away the dreams that break your heart
Blow away the lies that leave you nothing but lost and broken-hearted

The dogs on main street howl ’cause they understand
If I could take one moment into my hands
Mister I ain’�t a boy no I�’m a man
And I believe in a promised land
And I believe in a promised land
And I believe in a promised land

Start a conversation

