How interesting…

My mother last night was talking to my stepfather, telling him about a friend of the family whose daughter (my age) is pregnant. She’s not married…and the father is black. There was clear uncomfortableness and criticism implied, thought not directly stated.

I just walked into my little brother’s room. He’s a sports fanatic, very much in basketball. So he has posters and figurines of basketball players all around his room. All of his heroes are black.

The moral of the story: it’s okay to idolise them, just don’t love them. Maybe. Perhaps I’m missing something…

Start a conversation

