Technology and Social Clock

My new phone whines when its battery gets low. It makes this sort of plaintive, sad sound every five minutes almost as if it’s saying, ‘Hey, you. Person carrying me. I’m low on energy. Could you plug me in? Please? I really don’t ask much. … Hey, remember me? Your trusty little phone? I need some juice. Can you please plug me in?’

Also, I need to readjust my social clock. Bars close here at 1. And almost nothing is open after 8 it seems, except restos and bars. Not even cafés. I went out last night around 8.30 figuring I’d find a café to haunt for a while and none of them were open!

Start a conversation

