Argh, part two

So I went into work today and all that the manager said to me was, So (the guy you closed with–whose name I won’t bother using and who had never closed before) isn’t the best closer. My response was, Actually, I think he was great all things considered. The manager complained to me that he had to scrub honey or possibly hardened sugar water off the condiment station this morning before opening. I should have thrown in his face the fact that he had told me not to worry about too much about closing last night since he knew it wasn’t going to be perfect. I didn’t, though. I just said, As you can imagine, the condiment station was a disaster for most of the day yesterday.

Given the frustration that it’s clear that this is causing–I’m still as frustrated about it now as I was last night–I’m trying to figure out what I need to do about it. In a conversation with one of our regular customers (someone who comes in three or four times a day!) I said that, basically, my bottom line is that I want to do a really great job and that I don’t feel that I’m getting the support that I need to do that. This isn’t a career choice for me, but it’s what I want to be doing with my life right now. I’m not going to quit, but I can’t do the job to the standard that I’d like to do it without some help from others.

My roommate, whose ear I bent for the better portion of an hour and a half about the situation, thinks that I should just go to the owner. It’s a very flat management structure and it’s certainly not out of the question for me to do that. At the same time, I feel like I owe it to my manager to give him the opportunity to respond to whatever I might have to say before taking it up the chain of command.

Which isn’t to say that I know exactly what I would say. I guess I would just lay out on the table the various issues that I’ve realised I have with the management of the store since the new manager came on and since I got my promotion.

Bah. I just know that this is going to be another bad night’s sleep.

Start a conversation

