Podcast Obsession

And I don’t even have an iPod!

I currently have 9.4 hours of unlistened-to podcasts sitting in iTunes right now. And I keep adding more and more! It’s madness, I tell you!

I think that the whole idea of podcasting is really great, especially because it means that I can listen to things that I would normally want to listen to whenever I have time to actually listen to them. I wish other things would have podcasts, like Prairie Home Companion, even though there is a streaming archive online. That’s just laziness, I guess. It’s not really that much more difficult to go to the Prairie Home Companion website and listen to the archived show.

Admittedly, I haven’t really ventured out into the underbelly of podcasting. All of the podcasts that I’m subscribed to are from traditional media outlets (albeit ones like the BBC and NPR and CBC). I’ve sampled a few independent podcasts but the ones that I’ve tried have just been general crap. I don’t have time for that. I figure if there’s something that I need to hear, it will float my way through cyberspace and I’ll subscribe to it. I’m not going to go looking for it.

Ready for the rundown?

  • PBS’s American Experience podcast, which basically gives little teasers for upcoming shows but are full enough to be self-contained.
  • Canadian Voices. I’ve just subscribed to this one, which only just started and is to be a 15-part series of programmes featuring such Canadians as Jane Jacobs, David Suzuki, Roméo Dallaire, etc. The first episode is with Stephen Lewis, UN Special Envoy for Hiv/Aids in Africa and former Canadian Ambassador to the UN, speaking on the Hiv/Aids pandemic in Africa.
  • CBC Radio 3’s podcast. Another I’ve only just subscribed to. A new music programme.
  • Discovery Channel Podcasts. These ones are about half-an-hour and I hope that they don’t all use the same narrator as the first one I listened to because if they do then I’ll get annoyed really quickly. Pop science stuff basically.
  • In Our Time from BBC Radio 4. It’s an idea talk show, basically. Always very well-qualified guests and always very interesting topics. I listened to a programme on relativism the other day and have two in queue–one on 17th century print culture and another on the Abbasid Caliphs.
  • La Première à la carte. This from Radio-Canada. It’s essentially like NPR’s Story of the Day, which I’m also subscribed to, but from Radio-Canada and featuring a half-hour of stories instead of just one story.
  • Nova and Nova scienceNOW. I’m not really clear what the exact difference between these two is other than the fact that scienceNOW seems to be much more infrequent than Nova. scienceNOW bills itself as ‘Science Candy’ whereas Nova is ‘Short audio stories from the world of science.’
  • NPR’s All Songs Considered. NPR’s new music podcast.
  • NPR’s Story of the day. Self-explanitory, I hope.
  • On the Media. Another NPR podcast. I don’t think this show gets airtime on MPBN. It’s produced out of New York and is a weekly hour-long show about, not surprisingly, the media.
  • Smart City. Yet another NPR podcast. I know this one isn’t on MPBN. It’s another I’ve only just subscribed to. It’s basically an urban affairs/development/life/living/etc show. Listened to one episode so far and was quite pleased.
  • Finally, but certainly not least, The Onion Radio News. Brief audio stories from the Onion–every day! It rocks!
  • Start a conversation

    