‘I’m Glad You Came Over’ by Robert Blake

I’m glad you came over even though I know you won’t stay for the night
I’ll make some tea and put on a record I think you’ll like
Maybe it’ll be nice and easy just to talk for a while
Maybe I won’t get upset and maybe you’ll smile
Oh and it’s been such a long time since you smiled
The last time I remember was when we were in love
Back before you fell out of it and started doing anything but
Oh I’m glad you came over even though I was cold on the phone
You sounded so distant, lately I’ve been feeling so alone
Maybe it’ll be nice and easy just to talk for a while
Maybe it’ll be nice to see the lips that used to smile
And it’s been such a long time since I’ve seen you
And so much longer since we’ve had any fun at all
I’m glad you came over, I’d be glad if you wanted back in
But that’s just my imagination, look at the shape it’s put me in
But maybe I can see you without wanting to hold you
Maybe I can see you without having to tell you how much I love you
Oh and I know I shouldn’t be holding out for a smile
It just wouldn’t be the same this time
No it wouldn’t be the same unless you wanted to connect it with mine
Oh I’m glad you came over, maybe we’ll do it again
I guess that’s what you do when you’re friends
Talk about your day and what you’ve been up to
Offer some advice then go make love to someone new
Oh but maybe it’d just be nice to talk with someone who knows me so well
And maybe my sweetness for you that’s been driving me crazy will just be glad that you made the time to come over and see me.

Also, for the record, when you have mixed feelings about going to see a movie with an ex, make sure you have a clear escape route. Don’t get trapped at the end of the row next to the wall.

Just saying. In case that should ever come up.

Start a conversation

