Long week, long weekend

It’s been one of those weeks at work in general, not to mention the heat and our A/C dying a slow death as well as our ice machine. The A/C is fixed. The ice machine isn’t.

I’m working tonight to make up for the fact that I’m not working Sunday since I’ll be away for the wedding.

This shouldn’t be too much of a problem except that it means that I have a million things to do, all this morning, before work. Pick up my tux, buy a card, pack, figure out what I’m going to wear tomorrow for the rehearsal dinner, probably hem a pair of pants. Those last two should probably be done before I pack.

I know I won’t sleep well tonight given that I’m travelling tomorrow. I’m just like that. I have to be on the 8.50 train out of Portland tomorrow morning which isn’t so bad, but I’ll have to get up fairly early to get my self together and get out of the house. I don’t travel well. I’m always worried I’m forgetting something–and usually I’m worried that I’m forgetting something little that shouldn’t really matter. But still I worry. Because I’m like that.

This whole wedding thing still seems really surreal to me. I don’t think I’m quite ready for friends from high school to start getting married. I think it’s because, in my mind, we’re all still in high school. Even though we’ve all moved on, high school is the last context in which I spent a significant amount of time with these people and that’s where they’ll always exist in my mind.

Oy.

I’ve woken up an hour before my alarm and should probably go put this time to good use by trying to figure out what I’m going to wear tomorrow.

Start a conversation

