Update

Yes, I’m still alive.

Yes, I’ve been slacking on updating the blog recently.

I haven’t had much to say.

Things aren’t really new or exciting here in old, boring Portland.

Well, I guess that’s not totally right. New, maybe not exciting.

I’m mixing up my schedule a bit starting next month: 3 days in the office, 2 days in the shop. I’ve recently had a love/hate thing going on with being in the shop, so probably it’ll be good. I love just being there, being behind the bar but I’ve had little motivation to really keep on top of other things, to really do everything else that I’m expected to do. No one has called me on it, but if they did, I would fully own up to just barely doing what needs to get done when I’m there–according to my own standards for myself anyway.

The office thing will be good, I think. I’ll be working on writing some training stuff and updating a lot of things. There’s a bit of an on-going joke now: they don’t want me to leave and I don’t want to leave them, I just want them to move the company to another city.

As it stands, I’ve re-signed my lease through the end of May, so I’ll be here at least that long. Maybe a touch longer. I have a wedding to go to in Colorado the end of next June and maybe I’ll just combine a move out west–if that’s what ends up happening–with a trek to the wedding. We’ll see. It’s an idea.

For the most part, things are just in a holding pattern here, I guess. It’s about all I feel I can do right now. Professionally, I guess, I’m sort of moving forward, taking on more office responsibilities, but also still doing my best to learn all I can about coffee and espresso. As I’m writing this, I’m also half watching videos on YouTube about different ideas for various coffee drinks and the ever-ellusive latte art. I think I’ve not been able to master the latte art because we don’t use whole milk at our shop–the fat content makes a big difference, I think. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, just do a YouTube or Flickr search on latte art. It’s hott. That’s right. Two t’s.)

I just finished reading ‘A Passage to India’. E. M. Forster’s novels (among other authors’, but his in particular) make me think that I was maybe born a hundred years too late. Maybe. Now I’m off to the library to return it and see if, in fact, Heat by Bill Buford is waiting for me. I just checked my record online and it didn’t exactly say if it was or wasn’t but I noticed that they have my street address wrong so I never would have gotten the hold notification. I hope it is waiting, because it looks like a lot of fun!

Start a conversation

