My Mind: An odd, odd place

I woke up this morning with Frank Sinatra’s ‘Almost Like Being In Love’ stuck in my head. God only knows why. Trust me, I have no reason for it to be there.

I get to sit at a table this morning and hand out free travel mugs and coffee (as well as employment applications…hehe) to incoming art school students. I’m sure it’ll be amusing if anything. I’m crossing my fingers for a hot grad student or two. You never know…

In other news, the weather has turned just to where I love it most: the late August cool down before September’s Indian Summer. I really rather love fall. Winter I’m iffy on. I enjoy spring and, again, summer I’m iffy on. I don’t do well with extreme heat–I don’t think I could ever live in the South (I’m also not a big fan of conditioned air). Fall usually puts me in a good mood. It’s always been back to school time, new beginnings, new things on the horizon. Last fall was a bit odd–my first fall that I wasn’t going back to school–and I ended up doing a fair bit of soul searching. Not necessarily a bad thing.

This fall, though, comes after a summer of a lot of soul searching. I’m not sure I have many more depths to plumb right now so hopefully I can go into this fall with a fairly clearly head. We’ll see.

I was at the bar last night enjoying a glass of wine and the ex showed up with some friends, only one of whom I knew. I ended up sitting down with them at a table for dessert. And it was okay. I was over-tired and not super social but it was still okay. I didn’t freak out, I didn’t want to run away, I didn’t sit there and try to arrange in my head what it would be like if we were still together (okay, maybe I did a little, but that’s okay, right? It was only a little…). Overall, it was quite a successful social interaction. I think I’ve finally gotten there. It only took six months. Incidentally, I’ve always noticed that it takes me about twice as long as I was in a relationship to get over the relationship, so this is about right. Anyone else have that same ratio or is it just me?

I’m off to caffeinate some art kids!

Start a conversation

