Robert Blake

http://www.robertsblake.com

He played Portland last night. It was great. Except for the random hipster/punk kids who insisted on dancing around to music that doesn’t exactly lend itself to dancing around.

Particularly in a rather small, intimate bar.

I saw him play his first show in Portland last year. April, I think. He’s a great bluesy/folksy guitar guy. Mostly, his show is him with his guitar. Last year, I bought his cd ‘A Crowd of Drunken Lovers’ and it served me well for break-up music. His newest cd is called ‘The Beautiful and the Afternoon’–sort of a double cd but not really. The first half is called The Beautiful Night and the second half The Afternoon. Haven’t had a chance to listen to it through yet but he played some of the songs last night and it was certainly what I would expect.

If this troubadour happens through your town, go see him. It’s totally worth it.

Also, a friend of mine told me last night that I’m the opposite of a fag hag. Does that make me a hag fag? I’m not sure what she’s talking about. I mean, it was just me and four girlfriends who went out to the show last night….

One thought on “Robert Blake

Start a conversation

